Louisiana Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon Elected as 2013 National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) President

Dec 3, 2012

James Donelon

Above:  Louisiana Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon


Louisiana Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon was elected as 2013 President of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (“NAIC”) yesterday, December 2, at the conclusion of its 2012 Fall National Meeting in Washington D.C.

Commissioner Donelon succeeds Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin McCarty, who served as 2012 NAIC President.

Click here for an audio interview with Commissioner Donelon, in which he outlines his priorities for the coming year.

The other 2013 NAIC officers are:

President: Louisiana Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon
President-Elect: North Dakota Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm
Vice President: Montana State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance Monica J. Lindeen
Secretary-Treasurer: Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner Michael F. Consedine

The newly elected officers will assume their duties on January 1, 2013.

Biographical information on each is below:

Jim Donelon was appointed as Louisiana Insurance Commissioner in February 2006 and has won re-election three times to the position. A retired State Judge Advocate for the Louisiana Army National Guard, Commissioner Donelon’s career at the Louisiana Department of Insurance includes serving as Chief Deputy Commissioner and Executive Counsel.  He is also a former Parish Council Chairman and State Representative where he chaired the Committee on Insurance.  Commissioner Donelon is the Chair of the NAIC’s Surplus Lines Task Force.  He is a graduate of the University of New Orleans and Loyola School of Law.

Adam Hamm was appointed as North Dakota Insurance Commissioner in October 2007, elected to a four-year term in 2008 and re-elected in November 2012. Prior to becoming Commissioner, he served as a prosecutor for the Cass County State Attorney’s office.  He also worked as an attorney in private practice specializing in commercial litigation, administrative agency law and transportation law.  Commissioner Hamm is a graduate of Sam Houston State University and received his Juris Doctor degree with distinction from the University of North Dakota School of Law.

Monica J. Lindeen was elected Montana State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance in 2008 and re-elected in November 2012.  She is Chair of the NAIC Exchanges Subgroup, Audit Committee and serves on a number of task forces related to implementing health insurance reform. Commissioner Lindeen served in the Montana House of Representatives from 1999 to 2006. From 1994 to 1996, she was a part-time faculty member in the Montana State University (“MSU”) Billings English Department and taught simultaneously as a graduate assistant in the Department of Educational Foundations.   She earned her Bachelor’s Degree in English/History from MSU Billings.

Michael F. Consedine was appointed as Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner in April 2011. From 1995 to 1999, he served as department counsel for the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, where he represented the agency in litigation proceedings and on transactional filings.  Commissioner Consedine is Chair of the NAIC Reinsurance Task Force, Chair of the Health Care Reform Regulatory Alternatives Working Group and Vice Chair of the Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Commission. He serves on the Federal Advisory Committee on Insurance, which advises the Federal Insurance Office on national and international insurance matters.  A graduate of James Madison University, Commissioner Consedine earned his Bachelor’s Degree in political science and journalism, and is an honors graduate of Widener University School of Law.

To access complete information on the 2012 NAIC Fall National Meeting, click here.


Should you have any questions or comments, please contact Colodny Fass& Webb.



Click here to follow Colodny Fass& Webb on Twitter (@CFTLAWcom)



To unsubscribe from this newsletter, please send an email to Brooke Ellis at bellis@cftlaw.com.