Broward County Public Schools Annouces 59 Semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program

Oct 1, 2012


Broward County Public Schools issued the following news release today, October 1, 2012:


Semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program Announced


Fifty-nine Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) students have been named semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.  These seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $32 million, that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.  About 90 percent of the 16,000 semifinalists named nationwide, are expected to attain finalist standing, and half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.  Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

About 1.5 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.  The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

BCPS semifinalists and their schools include:

Charles W. Flanagan High School: Ryan Robinson

College Academy @ Broward College: Nigel A. Carter, Rose M. Killian, Isaac R. Penrod; Jared S. Rosen

Cooper City High School: Elizabeth Baltazar, Vincent K. Ong, Alysson D. Ramirez, Simon E. Shuham; Zoey R. Werbin, Catherine Y. Yip

Coral Springs High School: Nicole L. Miranda

Cypress Bay High School: Carmen I. Abello, Amelia Bahamonde, Daniel T. Galvez, William D. Giraldo, Nicolas Munoz-McDonald, Novaro A. Salazar, Jonathan D. Schiller, Maria C. Trigo, Michael S. Wagner, Gonzalo Ziadi, Adam Zionts

Deerfield Beach High School: Hannah L. Coker, Samreena R. Farooqui

Fort Lauderdale High School: Max F. Van Zile

J.P. Taravella High School: Liana Moss

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School: John T. Atyeo, Lilah P. Cohen, Ryan A. Crescitelli, Mitchell R. Feldman, Samantha C. Godskind, Jeffrey A. Greenberg, Hadi M. Iskandarani, Vyacheslav V. Kayushkin, Robert F. Kravec, Gary H. Liu, Haoxuan Luo, Victor Miao, Elizabeth A. Miles, Kevin Ng, Michael L. Norwalk, Vinay Penna, Noah B. Peskin, Rachel J. Reiss, Harrison J. Schwartz, Carleigh B. Shaheen, Austin A. Tedesco, Alyssa S. Ursprung

Miramar High School: Tanya E. Thomas

Pembroke Pines Charter High School: Aditya Iyengar, Gabrielle Rosario

Piper High School: Raphaela M. Meloro

Plantation High School: Jeffery A. Edelstein, Gabrielle A. Martin, Christian Polania

South Plantation High School: Matthew T. Beck

West Broward High School: Emily Y. Lin

Western High School: Jessica N. Withers