Mike Colodny Bestowed 1993 Carrie Meek Award for Education Efforts

Jan 19, 1993

Published: December 8, 1993

Education Week

Mike Colodny, during one of his four terms as Mayor of North Miami, Florida, was awarded the Carrie Meek Award for his efforts to promote community education in Miami-Dade County, Fla., by the Miami-Dade County Coalition for Community Education of Miami-Dade County Public Schools.

Honors & Awards

Thirty-six teachers have been recognized as 1993 recipients of American Teacher Awards by the Walt Disney Company. The teachers and their schools are listed below by subject or area of instruction.

Athletic coach. Leta Andrews, Granbury High School, Granbury, Tex; Joseph Borrosh, Pittsford Middle School, Pittsford, N.Y.; Edward Dunn, St. Louis University High School, St. Louis, Mo. Early childhood. Ann Cynthia Nunno Bean, Colfax Avenue School, North Hollywood, Calif; Todd Cole, Laurel Elementary School, New Castle, Pa.; Cheryl Peden, Mountain View Elementary School, Colorado Springs, Colo. English. Betty Kort, Hastings Senior High School, Hastings, Neb.; Cathy Rex, Roxborough High School, Philadelphia, Pa.; Robert Russell Taylor, Brewer Intermediate School, Greenwood, S.C.

Foreign language. Rachel Anne Sennert, William J. Palmer High School, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Robin Lynn Silverman, Bancroft School, Worcester, Mass.; Carol Swinney, Hugoton High School, Hugoton, Kan. General elementary. Patricia Ann Baltz, Camino Grove Elementary School, Arcadia, Calif.; Belean Leon Garcia, Patrick Henry School, Anaheim, Calif., Carolyn Pitcaithley, Eddy Elementary School, Carlsbad, N.M. Mathematics. Peggy Jane Covington, College Station Elementary School, College Station, Ark.; Patricia James Jordan, Roslyn High School, Roslyn, N.Y.; Leo Armando Ramirez Sr., McAllen High School, McAllen, Tex.

Performing arts. Patti Baker, Roseville High School, Roseville, Calif.; Marcia MacCagno Neel, Ed W. Clark High School, Las Vegas, Nev.; Ron Wakefield, North Park Middle School, Pico Rivera, Calif. Physical education and health. Richard Bennett, Ridgewood High School, Ridgewood, N.J.; Constance Hayes, Sachem Special Education Department, Lake Grove, N.Y.; Joan Jensen Moran, East Coloma School District #12, Rock Falls, Ill. Science. Richard Dale Benz, Wickliffe High School, Wickliffe, Ohio; Frances McLean Coleman, Ackerman High School and Weir Attendance Center, Ackerman and Weir, Miss.; Floyd Holt, Franklin D. Roosevelt High School, Hyde Park, N.Y.

Social studies. James Percoco, West Springfield High School, Springfield, Va.; Helen Smith-Kidwell, Pace Academy, Atlanta, Ga.; Andrew Turay, Morris High School, Bronx, New York City. Visual arts. Karen Butterfield, Coconino High School, Flagstaff, Ariz.; Dennis Peterson, Deer River High School, Deer River, Minn; Susan Rodriguez, Overbrook Educational Center, Philadelphia, Pa. Vocational/technical education. Curt Prchal, Will James Middle School, Billings, Mont.; Gwendolyn Raleigh Womack, Schwab Middle School, Cincinnati, Ohio; Linda Wright, South Miami Senior High School, Miami, Fla.


The National Art Education Association recently named 42 schools as recipients of the N.A.E.A. School Art Programs Standards Award. The winners are listed below by state.

Arizona. Manzanita School, Tucson; Phoenix Country Day School, Phoenix. California. Abraham Lincoln High School, San Jose; The Bishop’s School, LaJolla. Florida. Beulah Elementary School, Pensacola; Dillard School of the Arts, Fort Lauderdale; Riverview High School, Sarasota. Georgia. Mount Zion High School, Jonesboro. Illinois. Maine Township High School East, Park Ridge; Old Orchard Junior High, Skokie; Richards High School, Oak Lawn.

Indiana. Binford Elementary School, Bloomington; McKenney-Harrison Elementary, Auburn. Kentucky. Holy Cross High School, Louisville. Louisiana. John Ehret High School, Merrero. Maryland. Bester Elementary School, Hagerstown; Laytonsville Elementary School, Laytonsville; Randallstown High School, Randallstown. Michigan. Gladwin High School, Gladwin; J.W. Sexton High School, Lansing; The Valley School, Flint.

Missouri. Knob Noster Elementary School, Knob Noster; Wentzville High School, Wentzville. New Jersey. Glen Meadow Middle School, Vernon; Middlesex High School, Middlesex. New York. Bishop Kearney High School, Brooklyn,New York City; Midland High School, Rye. Ohio. R.B. Chamberlin High School, Twinsburg. Oklahoma. Will Rogers Elementary School, Oklahoma City.

Pennsylvania. Lycoming Valley Middle School, Williamsport; Merion Mercy Academy, Merion; Round Hills Elementary School, Williamsport; Weisenberg Elementary School, Kutztown. South Carolina. Royall Elementary School, Florence. Texas. Chula Vista Academy of Fine Arts, Corpus Christi; Merriman Park Elementary School, Dallas; North Ridge Middle School, Fort Worth. Utah. Farrer Middle School, Provo. Virginia. Brookland Middle School, Richmond. Washington. Orca at Columbia Elementary School, Seattle. Wisconsin. Marshfield Senior High School, Marshfield; Siren High School, Siren.


Twelve individuals were recently awarded the 1993 National Caring Award by the Caring Institute, Washington, D.C. The recipients and their organizations are listed below.

Yvonne Fedderson, Childhelp U.S.A., Woodland Park, Calif.; Bea Gaddy, Bea Gaddy’s Family Center, Baltimore, Md.; Harriet Hodges, International Human Assistance Program, Lake Placid, N.Y.; Larry Jones, Feed the Children, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Eugene Lang, I Have a Dream Foundation, New York City; Ignatius McDermott, Haymarket House, Chicago, Ill.

Sara O’Meara, Childhelp U.S.A., Woodland Park, Calif.; Mary Anne Schreder, The Centre for Living With Dying, Santa Clara, Calif.; Becky Simpson and Bobby Simpson, Cranks Creek Survival Center, Cranks, N.Y.; Patrick Taylor, Patrick Taylor Foundation, New Orleans, La.; and Kurt Weishaupt, Gift of Life, Flushing, N.Y.


Two teams of educators were recently awarded the Charles A. Dana Award for Pioneering Efforts in Education. They are: Priscilla W. Laws, professor of physics, Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., and Ronald K. Thornton, professor of research in physics and education, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.; and Marie M. Clay, professor emeritus, University of Auckland, New Zealand, and Gay Su Pinnell, associate professor, department of education, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Ronni Cohen, teacher, Burnett Elementary School, Wilmington, Del., was named Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year by the Entrepreneur of the Year Institute, Ernst & Young professional-services firm.
Mike Colodny, Mayor of North Miami, Fla., was awarded the Carrie Meek Award for his efforts to promote community education in Dade County, Fla., by the Dade County Coalition for Community Education of the Dade County Public Schools.
The General Federation of Women’s Clubs, Washington, D.C., was honored with the Award of Excellence in Education for 1993 for Community Service Education for the “Stories Offer Adventures, Read!” program, by the American Society of Association Executives.
Gladys M. Stein, teacher, Yonkers High School, Saunders, N.Y., was honored with the Teacher of Excellence Award by the New York State English Council.
The Matsushita Foundation, Secaucus, N.J., was presented the Corporate Philanthropy Award in Education by the Community Foundation of New Jersey.
Marilyn Swierk, department chair for human science and services at Warwick Veteran’s Memorial High School, Warwick, R.I., was named 1993 Teacher of the Year by the American Home Economics Association Federation.