Florida Governor Rick Scott Appoints Nine to Commission on Healthcare and Hospital Funding

May 11, 2015

Florida Insurance Lobbyist Donovan Brown

Above:  Colodny Fass’ Donovan Brown Notes Nominees to Florida Governor Rick Scott’s New Healthcare and Hospital Funding Commission Today.


Governor Rick Scott appointed nine Floridians to serve on the newly formed Commission on Healthcare and Hospital Funding (“Commission”) today, May 11, 2015.

Last week, the Governor signed Executive Order 15-99 creating the Commission and tasking it to investigate the role of taxpayer funding for hospitals, insurers, and healthcare providers. 

The following people were appointed today:

Carlos Beruff, from Parrish, is a member of the South Florida Water Management District, the Sarasota Manatee Airport Authority and is the President of Medallion Homes.  Mr. Beruff will serve as Chair of the Commission. 

General Chip Diehl, from Tampa, is a retired Brigadier General United States Air Force and is a member of the Florida Defense Support Task Force. 

Marili Cancio Johnson, from Key Biscayne, is a member of the Miami-Dade College Board of Trustees and is the principle of Marili Cancio Johnson P.A. 

Tom Kuntz, of Winter Park, is a former executive at Suntrust Bank and a current member of the Florida Board of Governors. Mr. Kuntz will serve as Vice Chair of the Commission 

Eugene Lamb Jr., of Midway, served on the Gadsden County Board of County Commissioners from 2004-2012 and is a past Chair of the Tallahassee Community College Board of Trustees. 

Dr. Jason Rosenburg, of Gainesville, is a reconstructive microsurgeon and a former Chair of the Florida Board of Medicine.

Dr. Ken Smith, from Estero, is the owner of Integrated Beef Consultants and a member of the Florida Gulf Coast University Board of Trustees. 

Sam Seevers, of Destin, is a small business owner and a former Mayor and City Council Member of Destin. 

Robert Spottswood, of Key West, is a certified public accountant and an attorney.  He is the President and Director of Spottswood Companies. 

The Governor also named Florida Agency for Health Care Administration Secretary Liz Dudek and Surgeon General John Armstrong as co-executive directors of the Commission.

The first meeting of the Commission will take place in Tallahassee on May 20. 

To view a copy of Executive Order 15-99 click HERE

To see a draft outline that will guide the Commission’s investigation on the role of taxpayer funding for hospitals, insurers and healthcare providers, please click HERE.  (Note, the outline document is a working draft and will continue to evolve). 



Should you have any questions or comments, please contact G. Donovan Brown at Colodny Fass (+1 850 545 8864 or DBrown@ColodnyFass.com).



Click here to follow Colodny Fass on Twitter (@ColodnyFassLaw)


To unsubscribe from this newsletter, please send an e-mail to colodnyfassnews@gmail.com.