2020 Florida Primary Election Results

Aug 19, 2020

On Tuesday, August 18, 2020, the Florida Primary Elections took place. Secretary of State, Laurel Lee announced that combined voter turnout was higher than average during this Primary Election. In true Florida fashion there were a number of competitive primary races among Congressional, State and Local candidates, along with some surprising results. Among those races there were quite a few upsets for incumbents, specifically incumbents with a history of controversial comments and controversial votes.  

Congressional Seats

Congressional District 15

  • Scott Franklin defeated incumbent Ross Spano on Tuesday night by 1,500 votes.

Congressional District 19

  • Representative Francis Rooney made the decision not to seek reelection, which resulted in a crowded and competitive primary. Florida House Representative Dane Eagle faced colleague Byron Donalds and Casey Askar. In an exceptionally close and divisive race, Byron Donalds ultimately pulled off the victory.

Senate Races

State Senate District 27

  • Senator Liz Benacquisto is term limited in District 27 and cleared the race for two House Republicans. Representatives Heather Fitzenhagen and Ray Rodrigues squared off in a spirited primary race. Ultimately Rodrigues, endorsed by Senate Leadership, defeated Fitzenhagen in a landslide.

State Senate District 29

  • Senator Kevin Rader made the decision not to seek reelection, opening up his Senate seat. Florida House Representative Tina Polsky defeated former Florida House Representative Irv Slosberg in the primary election.

State Senate District 35

  • Senator Oscar Braynon is term limited in Senate District 35, which created a crowded primary. The primary consists of numerous former members of the Florida House and the Florida Senate. Florida House Representative Shevrin Jones defeated opponents and colleagues Barbara Watson, Cynthia Stafford, and former State Senator Daphne Campbell.

House Races

State House District 1

  • Representative Mike Hill has a history of making provocative comments and it caught up to him Tuesday night. Michelle Salzman defeated incumbent Mike Hill in a two-way primary.

State House District 4

  • Mel Ponder made the decision to run for a local seat and forgo his reelection campaign for the Florida House. The energetic primary election took place between Jeff Hinkle and Patt Maney. Retired Okaloosa County Judge, Patt Maney defeated opponent Jeff Hinkle in the republican primary and will face Democrat John Plante in November.

State House District 14

  • Incumbent Kimberly Daniels faced a primary opponent due to her controversial votes and comments throughout her time in the Legislature. Her primary opponent, Angie Nixon, had a strong grassroots campaign and ultimately defeated her.

State House District 72

  • Margaret Good running for Congress which opened up her State House seat. On Tuesday night, Joe Harding won the Republican primary and will face Barbara Bryam in November.

State House District 88

  • Incumbent Al Jacquet had an uphill battle in the primary, due to some controversial comments he made in the past. In a five-person primary, Jacquet was defeated by Omari Hardy.

State House District 116

  • In a controversial race, Incumbent Danny Perez defeated Gabriel Garcia. Speaker Jose Oliva backed candidate Gabriel Garcia against Perez. Perez has a long history with Speaker Oliva, but this was a huge victory for Perez, who is slated to be Speaker of the House in 2026.

November Elections

Congressional District 13

  • Anna Paulina Luna, who has been endorsed by Congressman and ally to President Trump, won her republican primary Tuesday night and will challenge incumbent Charlie Crist in November.

State Senate District 9

  • Term limited David Simmons’ seat is another competitive race we will be closely monitoring until November. Democrat Patricia Sigman won her five way primary Tuesday night and will face Leadership endorsed Jason Brodeur in the General Election.

State Senate District 39

  • Republican Anitere Flores is term limited, which cleared the path for a highly competitive general election to occupy her very purple seat. Democrat Javier Fernandez will face Republican Anna Maria Rodriguez in November. This is a race leadership is involved in on both sides and democrats have a slight advantage among registered voters.