2008-2010 Florida Senate Leadership Team Announced

Nov 13, 2008

Above:  Florida Senate President-Designate Jeff Atwater (R-Palm Beach)


Today, November 13, 2008, Florida Senate President-Designate Jeff Atwater (R-Palm Beach) announced his 2008-2010 leadership team, which comprises Senator Mike Fasano (R-New Port Richey) as Senate President Pro-Tempore and Senator Alex Villalobos (R-Miami) as Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee.

The press release issued by the Office of President-Designate Atwater is reprinted below.

To view Florida House of Representatives Speaker-Designate Ray Sansom’s leadership appointments, click here.


Should you have any questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact Frank Mayernick at fmayernick@cftlaw.com.




Tallahassee, FL — Senate Republican President Designate Jeff Atwater (R-Palm Beach) today announced the appointment of Senator Mike Fasano (R-New Port Richey) as the Senate President Pro Tempore and Senator Alex Villalobos (R-Miami) as the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee for the 2008-2010 term.


“The weeks and months ahead hold significant challenges,” said Republican President Designate Atwater. “Floridians have elected us to tackle tough issues and protect their quality of life. It is my goal to lead a Senate that will face these issues in a bipartisan and deliberate manner.”


Atwater continued, “I am confident in Senator Fasano and Senator Villalobos, two disciplined individuals who have both institutional knowledge and a commitment to public service.”


“I look forward to working once again on behalf of my constituents and the people of Florida,” said Senator Fasano. “The diversity within the Senate body reflects our great state.  It is our desire to have an environment in which every Senator is able to represent their individual districts and serve their constituents.”


“I am grateful for this opportunity to work with every Senator to ensure that Florida’s best days are ahead,” said Senator Villalobos. “We have a great deal of talent and expertise in the Senate. The rules and institution of the Senate provide an environment for each Senator to be successful elected officials.”


Senate President Pro Tempore – Senator Mike Fasano (R- New Port Richey) Senator Mike Fasano is one of the hardest working individuals in the Florida Senate.  He is known for his disciplined study and tireless work on behalf of his constituents. Senator Fasano was first elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 1994, where he served four terms.


In 2002, Senator Fasano was elected to the Senate where he continued his service as a determined consumer advocate.  Most recently Senator Fasano chaired the Senate Transportation and Economic Development Appropriations Committee


Senate Rules Committee Chair – Senator Alex Villalobos (R-Miami) Senator Villalobos is known for his intellectual and disciplined legal mind.  He is widely respected and has a tradition of working in a bipartisan fashion. His integrity and dignity will ensure that the institution of the Senate is protected.  Senator Villalobos was first elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 1992, where he served four terms.  In 2000, he was elected to the Senate where he continued his service as a member and most recently chair of the Judiciary Committee. 


 To unsubscribe from this newsletter, please send an email to ccochran@cftlaw.com